Foundation Stage

In the first year at school your child will follow the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum. The curriculum is based around:

  • Communication and Language development
  • Physical development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design


A lot of the children’s time is spent engaged on activities based on their own interests but they will also work as part of a group or the whole class doing shared activities such as phonics work, maths, PE and music.


Welcome to Oatlands Infant School